Thank You Dr. Kate Milberry

“No matter how much time passes, I will miss you with every single piece of my heart” was my last tweet in the last class!

Image

(last moment of the class)

We have been waiting for this day since long. But today I am feeling very sad. I will not see our classmates again in classroom. We will miss Dr. Kate Milberry’s class.  She is such a wonderful professor who teaches us the contemporary social networking issues. It’s a very good experience in my life. I will try my best to utilize my knowledge in my country. Lots of teachings, ideas, thoughts, discussion—I can’t believe it is not going to be happen again. However, I will try to implement the ideas and teachings from this course.

Image

(Dr. Kate Milberry)

The discussion of the video was on Occupy Everywhere: Michael Moore, Naomi Klein on Next Steps for the Movement Against Corporate Power.

Today our Professor discussed on many interesting topics. I enjoyed the lecture on Zapatistas and Black Bloc. Zapatistas is a revolutionary leftist group based in Chiapas, the southernmost state of Mexico. Black Bloc is a tactic for protests and marches where individuals wear black clothing, scarves, sunglasses, ski masks, motorcycle helmets with padding, or other face-concealing and face-protecting items. People covered themselves with black so that no one can be distinguished.

Image

(Kirsten’s presentation and Cup Cake )

At the end, out last presenter of this course was Kirsten. She presented on used Haiku Deck for her presentation as a tool. Her topic was to discuss on an article by Dean Jodi (2012), named The Limits of Communication, published in Guernica Magazine. Main discussion was on automated society. She asked an interesting question in the class- “Does network tech reduce cognitive function?” Dean Jodi thinks technology is reducing our cognitive activity. For example google or search engine is not helping us developing our intelligence. But almost everyone in the class was against it and everyone said it is rather increasing our ability to think more and act smart.

At the end, the tweet I mentioned earlier; got a reply from today’s presenter Kirsten, “it’s not over yet, and we will continue to connect with all our new tools!”

Image

(It’s done! I can see no one wants to leave the class :(  )

Thank You Dr. Kate Milberry for teaching us Social Networking and its proper use!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Thank You Dr. Kate Milberry

  1. I like your posts Jamil, they are as genuine as you. I will miss you all! Let’s keep in touch.

  2. Thanks for all your wonderful posts and pictures Jamil! Seems like just yesterday that you were asking me if all the trees were dead downtown, and I had to explain that in Edmonton the leaves come out in May! :-)

  3. Hey – Great record of the last moments.

  4. Kate

    Jamil! What a great post! Thanks for documenting the class with such great photos and commentary. I am glad you found the readings and material interesting, and hopefully useful! Take care, Kate

Leave a Reply

